gcseigcse-courses 6


At the start of Year 10 (age 14-15), students at The New School begin courses leading to GCSE and IGCSE examinations, which are taken at the end of Year 11 (age 15-16). 

GCSE (General Certificate of Secondary Education) and IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) examinations are set by London and Cambridge Universities, for which The New School is an official centre.  They mark the end of compulsory schooling in England and are a natural continuation of courses in Years 7, 8 and 9 which are specifically designed as a foundation for GCSE and IGCSE courses.  These exams prepare students for further academic work, including progression to ‘AS’ level (Advanced Subsiduary level in Year 12), and ‘A’ level (Advanced level in Year 13) study.  GCSE and IGCSE qualifications are recognised by academic institutions and employers around the world.

At GCSE and IGCSE level students take a wide range of subjects. In order to make sure that everyone has a balanced and broad curriculum, many subjects are compulsory.  Choices are limited to ensure that no one specialises too early or limits later possibilities by dropping an important subject.

GCSE and IGCSE courses offered by The New School in Years 10 and 11

The New School GCSE and IGCSE courses provide a broad study programme and cover a variety of subjects: Art, Biology, Chemistry, English Language, English Literature, French, History, Italian, Mathematics and Physics. 

Some subjects offer a choice of Core or Extended papers allowing students to access work at a level appropriate to their ability.

What grades can be achieved at GCSE and IGCSE?

At the end of the course, students receive a grade for each subject. The pass grades, from the highest to the lowest, are: ‘A*’, ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘C’, ‘D’, ‘E’, ‘F’ and ‘G’.  Those who fail to reach an acceptable standard receive a ‘U’ grade (unclassified) and the subject is not included on their certificates.

Five or more ‘A*-C’ grades are normally required for entry to ‘AS’ courses in Year 12.  Students wishing to continue studying a subject at ‘AS’ or ‘A’ level should have achieved a minimum of a ‘B’ grade at GCSE / IGCSE in that subject.  ‘A’ levels are a university entrance requirement. 

Most universities typically require a minimum of a ‘C’ grade in English and Mathematics, regardless of a student's performance in their A-level courses.

IGCSE English Language (English as a 1st Language)

IGCSE English Language (English as a 2nd Language)


IGCSE English Literature

IGCSE History

GCSE French

GCSE Italian

GCSE Spanish

IGCSE Mathematics

IGCSE Biology

IGCSE Chemistry

IGCSE Physics

IGCSE Computer Science